Annual Meeting

The Annual Meeting of Members of the Anchorage Ski Club, Inc. (ASC) will be held via electronic communication on Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 6:30 PM, with a link from this page. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting will not be held in person this year in order to comply with social distancing and gathering limitations, and to ensure the safety of our members and their families. The purpose of this meeting is to allow the Board of Directors to report on the business and affairs of the Club for the current year, elect directors for expiring and recently-vacated Board seats, and to transact other business as may properly come before the meeting.

Please understand that due to the pandemic, the agenda will be in abbreviated form, and we ask that questions and comments be submitted in advance of the meeting to: ASC will endeavor to respond to as many questions/comments as possible given the abbreviated meeting format.

The Board of Directors has solicitated nominations for election. There are currently seven seats on the Board up for election. Five current Directors and two ASC member are seeking seats on the Board. Candidate statements from all seven candidates are included with this notice. The ASC Board of Directors endorses the following candidates as presented by the Nominating Committee as qualified to serve on the Board:

• Nick Bajwa (candidate for seat expiring 2023)
• Matt Cullens (current Board Member and candidate for vacated seat expiring 2021)
• Daniel Jensen (current Board Member and Treasurer, and candidate for seat expiring 2023)
• John Koltun (current Board Member and First Vice President, and candidate for seat expiring 2023)
• Maeve Nevins-Lavtar (current Board Member and candidate for vacated seat expiring 2022)
• Marissa Riopelle (candidate for seat expiring 2023)
• Rich Todd (current Board member and President, and candidate for seat expiring 2023)

Current ASC Directors Lee Fisher and Eric Pedersen are not seeking reelection, and we would like to thank them for their many years of service and dedication to the Anchorage Ski Club and Arctic Valley. They both put in countless hours and made significant contributions to Arctic Valley.

During the last year, the Board of Directors had two directors resign – Jason Woodward and Lindsey Whitt. Article III, § 13 Vacancy, provides that if a vacancy occurs on the Board, the remaining directors may appoint an ASC member to serve until the next election date. To fill those two vacant seats, the Board of Directors recently appointed Maeve Nevins-Lavtar, who will be running for the vacated seat to expire in 2022, and Matt Cullens who will be running for the vacated seat to expire in 2021.

This year, voting will only be conduct by ballot-style proxy and electronic voting. In other words, there will be no voting by ballot in person. Members 18 years of age or older in good standing 30 days prior to any election will be entitled to vote. Proxy votes may be exercised if the proxy is in writing, signed by the member, and dated within the past year. Valid proxies are to be used and exercised at ASC meetings for the purposes of establishing a quorum and casting a vote for directors in addition to any matters incident to the meeting. Incomplete proxies will be counted for purposes of a quorum only.

The deadline for submission of proxies is November 9, 2020.  If you have not already mailed your proxy, please email it to